Is Vipashyana or Insight meditation better than Shamata or Calm-Awareness meditation?


From: Buddhadharma magazine, fall 2007 Page 15, entitled: “The Perfect Machete”.

“Finding the right balance between shamatha and vipassana practice is a lot like having the right tool to cut through the jungle” – Ajahn Chandako

When I was a young monk, a common meditation method used in Thailand was reciting the mantra; “buddho” in the mind. I tried that for awhile, but somehow it didn’t stick as easily as another word that I came up with, which was “peace”. So I just started using “peace” as a mantra. When I was sitting, I would say “Peace,” silently repeating it to myself, feeling it reverberate – “peace, peace, peace.” Whether I was working or on alms round, eating, or even in conversation, I found that every time I could bring my mind back to the center of “peace, peace,” then everything started to come back into balance, I realized it was a quality that I needed. So it was a reminder.

Before I went to Wat Pah Nanachat )a forest monastery in Thailand for English-speaking foreigners, established by Ajahn Chah) I was doing a long meditation retreat in Thailand, and it was more of the vipassana style. I was told “Well, you’re welcome to do samatha meditation of you want, but it’s basically a waste of time. It makes you a little peaceful, you get a little happiness, but you get attached to it and then you end up just as stupid as you ever were. But vipassana, that’s the essence of wisdom, that’s the thing that is going to liberate you.” So I said “Great!” and put all my energy into it. But by the time I got to Wat Pah Nanachat, I realized: “actually, what I need is some peace”. And Ajahn Chah didn’t make this big distinction between samatha and vipassana.

I think it was Ajahn Buddhadasa who first came up with the simile of samatha and vipassana as being very much like a knife. In this simile, the practitioner is someone who is carving a way through a dense jungle, a dense thicket. He doesn’t need to cut down the whole jungle, rather, he just needs to cut a path through the jungle to get to the other side. The tool to work with is the meditation, but in order for it to be an effective tool, it’s got to be both heavy and sharp. Trying to get through the jungle with just a razor blade clearly is not going to work. Neither is trying to get through the jungle with just a dull stick. But when you combine the sharpness and the heaviness then you get one of these Thai machetes, and with systematic effort and persistence, you can make your way through the jungle bit by bit, vine by vine, tree by tree. This was Ajahn Buddhadasa’s simile for samatha and vipassana. Vipassana was that sharpness, that clarity of mind, that investigative edge, whereas samatha was the weight behind it, the oomph, the power.

Larry’s View?

Actually – I’d adjust this example to say that Shamata is the like the handle and Vipashyana is the blade – without the handle, its hard to hold the blade without cutting yourself and its hard to get the blade to hit in the same spot each time – without the blade, you can’t cut through the forest to create a clear path.

I’m disappointed that some people have such a negative view of shamata – but I’m glad there are people counteracting these false views.

I’ve also thought of another aspect to this issue….

Its through Shamata meditation that we attain the states right up to the pure Form and Formless Heavens and its Vipashyana meditation that allows us to break through to a way of being that is beyond all realms of existence (by understanding the true nature of the self). We need to experience all realms of existence in our mastery of reality BEFORE we can go beyond them.

So to denigrate Shamata is really foolish – these people should be asked if they have experienced the Pure Form Realms (Limitless Investigation, Limitless Joy, Limitless Bliss, and Limitless Equanimity) or the Formless Realms (limitless space, limitless consciousness, Nothing-ness, and neither perception nor non-perception). Only after that do they have the right to demean Shamata and even then, once you get to these states, you usually appreciate the vehicle that got you there

About larryreside

Technical Administrator for the Westport Lions Club Website and Instructor @ the Peaceful Garden Meditation Group - A Group that studies and practices Buddhist Psychology and Meditation in the Gelugpa tradition of Tibetan Buddhism.
This entry was posted in Answers to Questions, Basic Practices, Calm-Awareness or Mindfulness Meditation, Insight Meditation (Vipashyana). Bookmark the permalink.

76 Responses to Is Vipashyana or Insight meditation better than Shamata or Calm-Awareness meditation?

  1. I very glad to find this site on bing, just what I was looking for : D too bookmarked .

  2. I’m still learning from you, as I’m improving myself. I certainly enjoy reading all that is posted on your website.Keep the tips coming. I liked it!

  3. Nice post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed! Very helpful info particularly the last part 🙂 I care for such info a lot. I was seeking this particular information for a very long time. Thank you and good luck.

  4. Thank you for your entire labor on this blog. Kate take interest in engaging in research and it is obvious why. We notice all concerning the dynamic way you make functional steps by means of your blog and in addition attract contribution from other people on that concept plus our favorite girl is without a doubt learning a great deal. Take pleasure in the rest of the new year. You’re performing a really great job.

  5. That is the fitting blog for anybody who desires to find out about this topic. You understand so much its nearly onerous to argue with you (not that I truly would need…HaHa). You positively put a new spin on a subject thats been written about for years. Nice stuff, just nice!

  6. Regards for all your efforts that you have put in this. very interesting information.

  7. I think this is among the most vital information for me. And i’m happy studying your article. However should commentary on few general things, The site style is perfect, the articles is in reality excellent : D. Excellent activity, cheers

  8. There is noticeably a bundle to find out about this. I assume you made certain nice points in features also.

  9. Thank you so much for providing individuals with an extraordinarily remarkable possiblity to read critical reviews from this web site. It is usually very kind and also packed with a good time for me and my office peers to visit your blog particularly three times in 7 days to see the new secrets you have got. And indeed, we’re always fascinated concerning the superb information served by you. Some 3 ideas on this page are indeed the simplest I’ve ever had.

  10. Lupita Yard says:

    Spot on with this write-up, I actually suppose this website needs rather more consideration. I’ll most likely be again to read far more, thanks for that info.

  11. torrenty says:

    I am really enjoying the theme/design of your blog. Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility issues? A number of my blog visitors have complained about my site not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Safari. Do you have any advice to help fix this problem?

  12. vaastu says:

    Nice informative post bookmarked it will visit again Thanks

  13. An interesting dialogue is well worth comment. I think that you ought to publish much more on this subject, it may not be a taboo topic but typically persons aren’t enough to converse on these kinds of topics. To the subsequent. Cheers

  14. Gry torrenty says:

    Wow that was odd. I just wrote an very long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Regardless, just wanted to say wonderful blog!

  15. Cool article it’s really. Friend on mine has long been awaiting just for this content.

  16. Hi. Not sure if somebody told you this but your website seems to be kinda weird in my browser.. maybe some code in your template design is wrong. . I believe it may be an isolated problem … i.e its just me who is seeing this odd error. Opera may just be messed up.. btw Opera is the name of the browser I’m using in case you didnt know… Im sure its really nothing but thought you ought know about this just in case.. And thank you for all the cool blog articles, I loved what I read!

  17. Internet says:

    I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you design this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz reply as I’m looking to create my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. thank you

  18. I am perpetually thought about this, appreciate it for putting up.

  19. some genuinely fantastic work on behalf of the owner of this website , dead great subject matter.

  20. Andrew Pelt says:

    Hello there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it’s really informative. I’m going to watch out for brussels. I’ll appreciate if you continue this in future. Numerous people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  21. Its gr8 to read such kind of article . Already bookmarked your website

  22. I am really pleased I saw this – thank you.

  23. would love to perpetually get updated outstanding site ! .

  24. Text Ads says:

    Hello, Thank you for great post.

  25. Useful info. Lucky me I found your website by accident, and I am shocked why this twist of fate didn’t took place in advance! I bookmarked it.

  26. Excellent blog here! Also your site lots up fast! What host are you the use of? Can I am getting your associate hyperlink on your host? I wish my website loaded up as quickly as yours lol

  27. Thanks for any other informative website. Where else may just I get that type of info written in such an ideal approach? I have a undertaking that I’m simply now working on, and I’ve been on the glance out for such information.

  28. Odessa Egger says:

    This is a topic close to my heart cheers, where are your contact details though?

  29. I simply must tell you that you have written an excellent and unique article that I really enjoyed reading. I’m fascinated by how well you laid out your material and presented your views. Thank you.

  30. You should take part in a contest for one of the best blogs on the web. I will recommend this site!

  31. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyhow, just wanted to say excellent blog!

    • larryreside says:

      The blog software doesn’t publish comments right away, it sends them to me first for approval. That’s why it seemed to disappear! – I hope it’s all fixed now!?
      thanks for the compliment.

  32. This should actually help me out with the problems I have been having. Thanks!

  33. Aplikacje says:

    I have really learned some new things as a result of your weblog. One other thing I’d really like to say is that newer pc os’s often allow additional memory to be played with, but they in addition demand more memory space simply to run. If an individual’s computer could not handle far more memory and the newest software package requires that memory space increase, it can be the time to shop for a new Personal computer. Thanks

  34. bsg-online says:

    Most of the things you assert happens to be astonishingly appropriate and that makes me ponder why I had not looked at this in this light before. This particular piece truly did turn the light on for me as far as this specific issue goes. But there is actually 1 point I am not really too comfortable with so while I make an effort to reconcile that with the actual core idea of your position, permit me see what all the rest of the subscribers have to point out.Nicely done.

    • larryreside says:

      Thanks….. There may still be things that I have not considered or aspects that are not included or well explained. I will try to increase you’re comfort level, if you’re willing to risk it. thanks again.

  35. I do enjoy the way you have presented this particular difficulty and it does indeed provide us some fodder for thought. Nevertheless, through what I have experienced, I just simply trust when the opinions pack on that people today stay on point and in no way get started on a soap box regarding the news of the day. Anyway, thank you for this exceptional piece and even though I can not necessarily agree with this in totality, I respect your viewpoint.

    • larryreside says:

      Thank you for the compliments – There is a difference between Vipashyana as taught in Tibetan Buddhism and Vipassana as taught by Goenka – they are definitely not the same and may be the reason for any disagreement.

  36. Hmm it seems like your website ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any points for first-time blog writers? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

    • larryreside says:

      The website sends me the comments by email first and then I must approve them before they are posted – that’s why they seem to disappear (although I don’t seem to see your first comment. I’m glad you like my blog – I’m actually a new blogger myself, but the advice that I’ve heard is to try to write regularly – I don’t always succeed in that! thanks again.

  37. I couldn’t understand some parts of this post, but I assume I only need to learn a bit more regarding this, because it sure seems interesting and kind of though-proviking! By the way, how did you first get involved with this?

    • larryreside says:

      There are many good books called Lam Rim or “Stages of the Path” that talk of this and may help further. Many can be accessed through SnowLion Publications.

      I first became involved in this during my search for understanding why people treated each other so cruelly and looking for purpose to my life. I first discovered Taoism, but it didn’t have enough detail for me. Then I met someone who was a Buddhist practitioner and taught me Calm-Awareness meditation. Then I moved to Montreal Canada to study with a Tibetan Lama that moved there in the 70’s. And the rest is history!!!!

  38. Good info. Lucky me I ran across your site by accident (stumbleupon). I’ve saved as a favorite for later!

  39. Excellent post. I learned a lot reading it. Thanks.

  40. Keep up the good work.I’ll return often.

  41. Once I originally commented I clicked the -Notify me when new articles are added- checkbox and now each time a comment is added I purchase four emails with the exact same comment. Is there any method for you to remove me from that service? Thanks!

    • larryreside says:

      Hi Sherika…
      Unfortunately, there is nothing that I can do, but, in your notification email about a new post, there should be an “unfollow” link. Clicking on that for three of the four messages should at least get rid of three notifications for you. Hope that helps…

  42. Thank the author so much for this good article. Great job!

  43. Thanks for your marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading it, you could be a great author.I will make sure to bookmark your blog and will come back very soon. I want to encourage you to continue your great writing, have a nice weekend!

Leave a Reply

